Top 20 songs in the running for 2014 APRA Song of the Year released

Top 20 songs in the running for 2014 APRA Song of the Year released

The longlist for the 2014 APRA Song of the Year has been released and quite a mixed bag it is.

Making the list are, almost inevitably,Vance Joy's Rip Tide, which of course triumphed as the top song on the Triple J Hottest 100, Birds Of Toyko's Lanterns, which was officially the most played song on commercial radio in 2013 and Matt Corby'sResolution, which like the other two tracks achieved platinum status in terms of sales. Also on the list are Flume, Gurrumul Yunupingu, Sarah Blasko, The John Butler Trio and several other deserving contenders. Both Boy and Bear and Nick Cave and the Bad Seedshave two entries on the list; Boy and Bear for Southern Sun and Harlequin Dream while Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds scored with We No Who U R and Jubilee Street.It's also fair to say thatIan Kenny has two shots at the prize as well since Karnivool's We Are made the top twenty as well. The list is rather light on females though. Notably missing is Courtney Barnettwho had a massive 2013 and is currently enjoying a lot of international love as well.

Check out the full list below to make your picks before the list is whittled down to five on May 29 ahead of the actual winner being announced on June 23.

APRA Song of the Year Top Twenty Nominations

Bayini - Gurrumul Yunupingu
Covered in Chrome - Violent Soho
Drop The Game - Chet Faker and Flume
God Fearing - Sarah Blasko and The Slave Folklore Quarte
Harlequin Dream - Boy & Bear
Rip Tide - Vance Joy
Southern Sun - Boy & Bear
Steal The Light - The Cat Empire
Under Your Skin - Dan Sultan
We Are - Karnivool
We No Who U R - Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
A Moat You Can Stand In - The Drones
Alive - Empire of the Sun
Avenger - The Bamboos
Battleships - Bernard Fanning
Is This How You Feel - The Preatures
Jubilee Street - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
Lanterns - Birds of Tokyo
Only One - John Butler Trio
Resolution - Matt Corby
Follow The Dwarf on Facebook

Comments ()