A Day By The Green 15
 | 

A Day By The Green 15




I have so much on my plate that my cup runneth over. So this gig review is going to be very brief. That is okay because there is a lot of content here with 25 HD Videos that play for over an hour or two.

A Day By The Green number 15 at the St Kilda Bowls Club went off with a BANG! Affectionally known as The Bowlo by the locals. Going back to a twice a year format has revitalised this event. It's it important to note, that this biannual event that does not have a fancy publicist pumping out press releases but it packs out the Bowlo every single time. The reason is pure and simple. It's a perfect example of how to celebration the vibrant St Kilda music scene, with a mixture of St Kilda acts and local bands. The audience is like one big happy family, that has a music loving community spirit. It's also damn good value for money. It usually has 10 or more act for a twenty dollar entry fee. Talk about bang per bucks, or should that be each band per two bucks.

It was announced that it would be headliner HITS from Brisbane only exclusive Melbourne gig. It ended up not being true because HITS played a secret house party at Music Victoria's Treasurer humble abode in St Kilda the night before. Bazza's house has seen intimate performance in the past from such luminaries as the Church, Harry Howard and NDE, The Darling Downs, Jack Howard and Charles Jenkins & The Zhivagos. HEY! Where was my invite? I must be losing my touch.

HITS totally got their freak on and appeared on stage dress up like a totally drugfucked up rock'n'roll version of The Addams Family. Evil Dick Richards as Gomez Addams, Tamara Dawn as Morticia, Stacey Coleman as Wednesday, Andy Buchanan as Lurch and Gregor Mulvey as Uncle Fester. What a freakfest! They played a blistering set made up of a selection from their debut album 'Living With You Is Killing Me"and their brilliant follow up album 'HIKIKOMORI' plus the crowd favourite, "Take Your Pills". My personal gig highlight was this encore performance of 'Never Sing A Song Again'.

HITS - Never Sing A Song Again @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


HITS - Jesus F Christ

HITS - Jesus F Christ @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


HITS - Bitter And Twisted

HITS - Bitter And Twisted @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


HITS - I Need A Million (The Laughing Dogs cover)

HITS - I Need A Million @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


HITS @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


What can you say about Link McLennan's other band? Sun God Replica shines like a bright beacon of some of the best Australian music released in recent years. Brilliant pop songs like "Werewolves In Love" to the haunting "Shut The Hell Up". After seeing Link as maniac Meanie countless times, who would have thought he would become such an impressive guitar guru? I still don't know how he makes his guitar sound a harpsichord. All hail Sun God Replica! This song always blows me away, a lovely little ditty titled "Pavlov's Dog".

Sun God Replica - Pavlov's Dog @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Sun God Replica @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Dukes of Deliciousness are a balls to the wall riff-fest from Geetroit. You have got to love a band with loads of swagger. Mike Findlay is an impressive frontman and as engaging personality on and off the stage. His serial killer beard is impressive too. He was also a member of the reformed Powder Monkeys with John Nolan and Timmy Jack Ray. That has got to worth about one billion brownie points in this town. What I love is that Robbie "Rocket" Watts son (Cosmic Psychos), Billy "Killer" Watts is on guitar. It's lovely to see him shredding the guitar behind his head and playing some tasty guitar licks. The Dukes debut album is due out next year and I can't wait. I am sure it's going to be all killers no fillers. Check out the vibe of this song, 'Cherry Vibe'.

The Dukes of Deliciousness - Cherry Vibe @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Dukes of Deliciousness - Mover And Shaker

The Dukes of Deliciousness - Mover And Shaker @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Marilyn Rose and The Thorns - Set It On Fire (The Scientists cover)

Marilyn Rose and The Thorns - Set It On Fire (Kim Salmon) @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Marilyn Rose and The Thorns - Wild Horse Plain

Marilyn Rose and The Thorns - Wild Horse Plain @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Marilyn Rose and The Thorns

Marilyn Rose and The Thorns @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Fiona & Her Holy Men - Know Your Product (The Saint cover)

Fiona & Her Holy Men - Know Your Product (Saints cover) @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Fiona & Her Holy Men - Sixteen Tons (Merle Travis cover)

Fiona & Her Holy Men - Sixteen Tons (Merle Travis cover) @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Fiona & Her Holy Men - Make Hay Whilst The Sun Shines

Fiona & Her Holy Men - Make Hay Whilst The Sun Shines @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Fiona & Her Holy Men - To Be The Woman

Fiona & Her Holy Men - To Be The Woman @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Brat Farrar - Punk Records

Brat Farrar - Punk Records @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Brat Farrar - Do You Really Wanna Know

Brat Farrar - Do You Really Wanna Know @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Brat Farrar - So Overwhelming

Brat Farrar - So Overwhelming @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Brat Farrar - Burn Everything Down

Brat Farrar - Burn Everything Down @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Me-Graines - Monday Morning Gunk (Radio Birdman cover)

Me-Graines - Monday Morning Gunk (Radio Birdman cover) @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


Me-Graines @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Rampage Phantom Band

The Rampage Phantom Band @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Rampage Phantom Band @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Night Sky

The Night Sky @ St Kilda Bowls Club (31st Oct 2015) from Carbie Warbie on Vimeo.


The Dwarf's complete photo gallery from A Day By The Green 15 is here:
Follow The Dwarf on Facebook

Comments ()